(Click image on the left for video)  Devore, CA, 10/29/11 – Round 8 of the Yamaha Quad X Series was held at Glen Helen Raceway near San Bernardino, CA. The final round was held on the REM track so the riders had an all new layout to learn for the last race of the season. The Yamaha demo rig was on hand offering demo rides on all the sport quads and played host to the series ending awards ceremonies after the final moto.

Moto 1: My #94 YFZ-R pulled hard down the short start and after a tight first turn with Davi Haagsma on my outside, I entered turn two with the lead. Starts were very important on the fast, one lined track, so I was happy to have the early lead and just concentrated on putting fast, mistake free laps together. While Haagsma and Beau Baron fought over 2nd, I was able to extend my lead to about 8 seconds by the halfway point of our 20 minute plus 1 lap moto. From that point on I was able to ride a comfortable pace out front and maintain my lead. When the checkers flew I took the win with Haagsma holding off Baron for second, Ethan Thatcher was fourth with visiting Irishman, Leon Rogers, claiming fifth.

Moto 2: The GYTR/Yamalube $250 Holeshot award was on the line and Haagsma and I battled again through the first turn but it was once again my YFZ-R pulling me to the front. Out front with a clear track I rode clean, hard laps and opened up a gap while Haagsma and Baron had a great battle for second that lasted the entire moto. When we crossed the line for the final time of 2011 I took the win by 12 seconds followed by Haagsma, Baron, Thatcher and Rogers.

Round 8 of the Yamaha Quad X series went great, we always set out to holeshot and win both motos and 2011 has been an unbelievable year for us. With the great support of Yamaha, my dad John Nelson, and Bill Johnson, I was able to win 15 of 16 motos and take all 8 overall wins. Thanks to all my sponsors for an awesome year.

Top Five Results

1) Dustin Nelson Yam
2) Davi Haagsma Hon
3) Beau Baron Hon
4) Ethan Thatcher Suz
5) Leon Rogers Kaw

Top Three Points

1) Dustin Nelson 200
2) Beau Baron 166
3) Ethan Thatcher 142

Click here for full results on ATVRiders.com!